You are here: Sport Quizzes - FIFA World Cup hosts

FIFA World Cup Hosts

* Seventeen countries have hosted the FIFA World Cup in its twenty-one tournaments
* Four countries have hosted the event twice: Mexico, Italy, France, Germany (formerly West Germany)
* The Estadio Azteca (Mexico City) and Maracana (Rio de Janeiro) are the only venues to have hosted two World Cup finals
* Japan and South Korea both hosted the 2002 FIFA World Cup
* There will be three hosts in 2026: the United States, Canada, and Mexico
* Countries that both hosted and won: Uruguay (1930), Italy (1934), England (1966), West Germany (1974), Argentina (1978) and France (1998)

Table of past hosts

Hosts Winners Runners-up
2022  Qatar    
2018  Russia France Croatia
2014  Brazil Germany Argentina
2010  South Africa Spain Netherlands
2006  Germany Italy France
2002  Japan and South Korea Brazil Germany
1998  France France Brazil
1994  USA Brazil Italy
1990  Italy Germany Argentina
1986  Mexico Argentina Germany
1982  Spain Italy Germany
1978  Argentina Argentina Holland
1974  Germany Germany Holland
1970  Mexico Brazil Italy
1966  England England Germany
1962  Chile Brazil Czechoslovakia
1958  Sweden Brazil Sweden
1954  Switzerland Germany Hungary
1950  Brazil Uruguay Brazil
1946 * not held
1942 * not held
1938  France Italy Hungary
1934  Italy Italy Czechoslovakia
1930  Uruguay Uruguay Argentina