You are here: Sport Quizzes - NFL Teams

American Football Teams

How many teams are in the NFL?

There are 32 teams in the NFL, split into two conferences made up of 16 teams: the American Football Conference (AFC) and the National Football Conference (NFC).

The states with most teams?

As of 2023, 23 states have NFL teams. California, Florida, and New York have three NFL teams teams.
California: Los Angeles Rams, Los Angeles Chargers, San Francisco 49ers.
Florida: Jacksonville Jaguars, Miami Dolphins, Tampa Bay Buccaneers.
New York: Buffalo Bills, New York Giants, New York Jets.

NFL Teams

  1. Arizona Cardinals
  2. Atlanta Falcons
  3. Baltimore Ravens
  4. Buffalo Bills

  5. Carolina Panthers (based in Charlotte, North Carolina)
  6. Chicago Bears
  7. Cincinnati Bengals
  8. Cleveland Browns
  9. Dallas Cowboys
  10. Denver Broncos
  11. Detroit Lions
  12. Green Bay Packers (location: Green Bay, Wisconsin)
  13. Houston Texans (the NFL's youngest franchise, becoming the league's 32nd franchise during the 2002 season)
  14. Indianapolis Colts
  15. Jacksonville Jaguars
  16. Kansas City Chiefs
  17. Las Vegas Raiders
  18. Los Angeles Chargers
  19. Los Angeles Rams
  20. Miami Dolphins
  21. Minnesota Vikings
  22. New England Patriots
  23. New Orleans Saints
  24. New York Giants
  25. New York Jets
  26. Philadelphia Eagles
  27. Pittsburgh Steelers
  28. San Francisco 49ers
  29. Seattle Seahawks
  30. Tampa Bay Buccaneers
  31. Tennessee Titans (location: Nashville, Tennessee)
  32. Washington Commanders (previously known as the Redskins, officially rebranded in 2022)