You are here: 10 Questions - Canadian Provinces and Territories

Provinces and Territories of Canada

Canadian Geography Quiz

  1. What is Canada's most populous province?
  2. British Columbia is the westernmost province of Canada. Which state lies directly to it's east?
  3. Winnipeg is the capital and largest city of which Canadian province in the longitudinal centre of the country?
  4. Name the most populous city located in British Columbia?

  5. How many provinces and territories are there in Canada?
  6. Which province is the largest by area and the second-largest by population?
  7. Which territory separated officially from the Northwest Territories on April 1, 1999? It is the northernmost and largest territory of Canada.
  8. Excluding Quebec, which four provinces are called Atlantic Canada because they are located on the Atlantic coast?
  9. In which province or territory would you find Great Bear Lake, Great Slave Lake and the city of Yellowknife?
  10. Name the westernmost and smallest of Canada's three territories? It shares a long land border with Alaska.
  11. What is the smallest province in both terms of land area and population?
  12. Named after a hamlet on the Isle of Mull, Scotland, can you name the largest city in Alberta? And also what is the capital of Alberta?
  13. What collective name is given to the provinces of Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba, the most rural parts of Canada?
  14. Quebec is the only province where French is the sole official language, however, which province is officially bilingual?
  15. Name the only two landlocked provinces of Canada?
  16. Halifax is the capital and largest municipality of which Canadian province?

political map of canada
A map of the provinces and territories of Canada


  1. Ontario
  2. Alberta
  3. Manitoba
  4. Vancouver
  5. Thirteen
  6. Quebec (Quebec's most populous city is Montreal)
  7. Nunavut
  8. Atlantic Canada provinces are New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island
  9. Northwest Territories
  10. Yukon
  11. Prince Edward Island
  12. Calgary. And the capital of Alberta is Edmonton.
  13. Prairie Provinces
  14. New Brunswick is officially bilingual
  15. Saskatchewan and Alberta
  16. Nova Scotia