You are here: 10 Questions - Solar system satellites

Solar system satellites

How many moons does each planet have? As of 2023, one on Earth, two on Mars, 63 on Jupiter, 49 on Saturn, 27 on Uranus and 13 on Neptune. Two planets, Mercury and Venus have no natural satellites.


  1. Which two planets in our solar system have no satellites?
  2. What are the names of the two moons of Mars?
  3. Which planet in our Solar System has moons named after characters from the works of William Shakespeare?

  4. Discovered on October 10, 1846, Triton is the largest natural satellite of which planet?
  5. Which moon is the largest and most massive of the Solar System's satellites?
  6. The most densest moon is Jupiter's satellite Io, can you name the second densest satellite in the Solar System?
  7. Charon is the largest of the five known natural satellites of which planet?
  8. Name Saturn's largest moon? This moon is the second largest in our solar system.
  9. Which moon was the last moon to be discovered? It was discovered during the Voyager 2 flyby in 1989.
  10. The Galilean moons are the four largest moons of which planet? These moons were first seen by Galileo Galilei in late 1609 and the first objects found to orbit a planet other than the Earth.


  1. Mercury and Venus have no moons
  2. Phobos and Deimos are the moons of Mars
  3. Uranus
  4. Neptune
  5. Ganymede (which is a satellite of Jupiter)
  6. Moon (the satellite of Earth)
  7. Pluto (which is a dwarf planet. It was reclassified from a planet to a dwarf planet in 2006.)
  8. Titan
  9. Naiad (the innermost satellite of Neptune)
  10. Jupiter (they are: Io, Europa, Ganymede, and Callisto)