You are here: Trivia Questions - States Trivia

States Trivia

Questions: The United States of America

  1. What letter is the only one not in any state's name?
  2. Which state's name starts with two vowels?
  3. Washington, D.C. was established on land belonging to which two states?
  4. There are 3 states with 4 letters in their names. Can you name them?

  5. Chinook Indians traditionally lived in an area in which two now states?
  6. Which are the only two states with the letter 'B' in their names?
  7. Area 51 is the common name of a highly classified area in which state?
  8. Which state is the only one whose name is comprised of letters all on the same row of a computer keyboard?
  9. Which state's flag features the Union Jack?
  10. The names of how many US states begin with the letter 'V'?
  11. Which state has the same name as a country?
  12. Kentucky, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, and Virginia all use what term in their full official names rather than 'state'?
  13. What was the number of states that originally agreed to the United States Declaration of Independence?
  14. Which state was named in honour of the wife of King Charles I?
  15. Which two state names are the only ones that contain the letter 'F'?
  16. Which state, due to the fact it was the first of the original states to ratify the constitution, is known as The First State?
  17. The area surrounding New York City is known as the Tri-state area because it includes parts of which three states?
  18. Which six states border the Great Lakes?
  19. Yankee Doodle is the state anthem of which state?
  20. Which state is the smallest in size?


  1. Q
  2. Iowa
  3. Maryland and Virginia
  4. Iowa, Ohio and Utah
  5. Oregon and Washington
  6. Alabama and Nebraska
  7. Nevada
  8. Alaska (middle row)
  9. Hawaii's
  10. Two (Virginia and Vermont)
  11. Georgia
  12. Commonwealth
  13. 13
  14. Maryland (after Henrietta Maria)
  15. California and Florida
  16. Delaware
  17. New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut
  18. Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio and Wisconsin
  19. Connecticut
  20. Rhode Island