You are here: Quizzes - Top Quizzes - What are the Uk National Parks

What are the UK National Parks?

Do you know your National Parks? The ANSWERS are at the FOOT of this page.
Use these questions for your table top quizzes or in your quiz rounds.

What are the names of the 15 National Parks in the UK?

A national park is a protected area set aside by a the UK government for the preservation of the natural environment. Features of national parks are their beautiful countryside, wildlife, and cultural heritage. There are thirteen national parks in England and Wales; there are 2 in Scotland. The first national park was created in England in 1951.

In England there are 10 National Parks which cover 9.3% of the land area. Wales has 3 national parks, covering 19.9.% of its land area. And Scotland's 2 national parks cover 7.2% of its land area. National parks are known for their public recreation, with walking the most popular activity.

The UK's 15 National Parks:

  • Peak District (became the UK's first national park in 1951)
  • Lake District (largest national park in England, 1951)
  • Snowdonia (1951)
  • Dartmoor (1951)
  • Pembrokeshire Coast (1952)
  • North York Moors (1952)
  • Yorkshire Dales (1954)
  • Exmoor (1954)
  • Northumberland (1956)
  • Brecon Beaacons (1957)
  • The Broads (the smallest national park, 1989)
  • Loch Lomond and The Trossachs (2002)
  • Cairngorms (largest national park in UK, 2003)
  • New Forest (2005)
  • South Downs (2010)